For Mumbai Indians, it was Bowlers magic to win IPL 2020 – Finals

Mumbai Indians added more credibility to their growing reputation of being the best T20 team in the world, to give their first IPL title to the Delhi Capitals, who reached the final for the first time.

The seeds of MI’s five-wicket victory in Dubai were sown by the bowlers, who ended up tying DC to a total of 156/7. Rohit Sharma then took the lead with the bat, and helped Mumbai to not only pursue the IPL title-winning trend in odd years (2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019), but to remain the only major accomplishment for CSK. Also matched with. Close – A successful title defense.

How did MI start in Chase?

Rohit hit a six off Ashwin in the first over, but Quinton de Kock dropped his jaw against South Africa compatriot Kagiso Rabada.

There was also no relief for Enrique Narje. He made a slight downside against Rohit, who pulled out his signature, pristine pull shot for a six over deep midwicket.

Marcus Stoinis hit a four off the first ball to send De Kock. But Suryakumar Yadav hit his team’s start with a four and a six. Despite Axar Patel winning just three singles in his first over, MI made their way to 61/1 at the end of the powerplay.

The IPL final had a combined best PP score …

… MI’s effort against CSK in the 2015 final at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Could DC take breaks in the middle overs?

They looked as if Rohit had set those plans on fire. Axar and Praveen Dubey made some dot ball pressure. However, the MI captain, after a rookie spinner in his second over, followed him for two sixes at long off and long on.

For Mumbai Indians, it was Bowlers magic to win IPL 2020 - Finals
Image credits:

DC had a breakthrough against a run of play in the 11th over. When Suryakumar gave up his wicket after some misunderstandings, calling for a run. Rohit was down on his hunch and was disappointed at the turn of events. A situation that DC looked to capitalize on and bring Ashwin and Rabada back. Unfortunately for him, Rohit closed it too quickly to reach a half-century in 36 balls to quickly pull and cut South African bowler to back-to-back fours in the 12th over.

No drama on death overs? IPL – 2020

not enough.

Substitute Lalit Yadav’s brilliant effort in the outfield ended Rohit’s phenomenal innings at 68 in the 17th over. But the deficit between the required runs and balls was too little for DC to return. The result was never in doubt, as Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya were dismissed shortly afterwards. A testimony to this year’s MI’s stunning batting.

Krunal Pandya eventually completed MI’s victory off eight balls to win.

The Trent Bowl Essentials

For Mumbai Indians, it was Bowlers magic to win IPL 2020 - Finals
Image credits:

Earlier in the day, Shreyas Iyer took all the right steps. He stuck with his aggressive thoughts that gave his team a place in the final, and once again opted to bat after winning the toss.

The problem was that Trent Boult had a tendency to strike in the first over of this season. He punched a giant through Iyer’s thoughts when Stoinis met – one that SRH’s bowlers played in the last game. A diving, inbound delivery to De Cock on the first ball of the innings. It was the eighth time that Boult took a wicket in the first over of this season.

DC left Jayant Yadav: How was that match played?

It really started with how MI liked it. After Shikhar Dhawan survived the pace of a few overs, Rohit went straight for what he called a ‘tactical’ pick. In a terrible coincidence, Jayant hit his third ball. Like he did against CSK in the first qualifier last season to remove Suresh Raina. When Dhawan wanted to break his way to get out of an unfavorable match. But missed while attempting a slog sweep.

Rishabh Pant curbed his natural instinct to throw his bat at the challenge. Was content with pushing the ball into the empty leg side pocket and taking crucial runs as he and Iyer recovered DC.

Rohit brought back Jayant in the 16th over to dismiss Shimron Hetmyer, who was out only for Pant. Jayant beat the outside edge of the left-handed batsman on one or two occasions. But Hetmyer overcame the challenge by picking up the Fuller ball over extra cover for four.

DC only got 41/3 in Powerplay. Where did they find the outlet? IPL – 2020 -Finals

Krunal’s first left-arm spin in the 10th over.

Pant confidently smashed the dreadlock, as Krunal put the ball into it. Krunal made the rare mistake of bouncing the ball and saw the left-handed batsman coming out of his crease and dropping him to the ground for a six. Pant then hit the deep midwicket area for another six overs to flick the move-on switch.

For Mumbai Indians, it was Bowlers magic to win IPL 2020 - Finals
Image credits:

And then, in Pollard’s gentle moderate pace.

Pant gripped the back of a length cutter and slammed him in front of the point. And then Iyer, who had started an immense jump since arriving due to the wreckage of Bull and Jayant. With a confident slogan long after seeing Pollard’s speed change through another change settled down.

How did MI stop Iyer-Pant and get close to death?

Rishab Pant went unnoticed with a fielding maneuver. By the time DC was headed to death in the innings. Pant scored with his season-long hurdles and a low strike rate with no interruptions. He was in the area where he would target his favorite spots behind crosses and fine feet. Hardik, who was on short fine leg, was pushed back and Pant probably paid the price for not seeing the move. Nathan Culter-Nile shortened in length and turned it over as a left-handed batsman. Who looked to hook it up but Hardik hit only to fall for 56 off 38 balls.

Both Bolt and Colter-Nile used slow bouncers to good effect. Planning out DC’s death overs by taking out Hetimer and Axar for cheap. Despite Iyer’s best efforts – 65 * runs off 50 balls after leading them past 500 runs in a season – Mumbai Indians finished as they started. He conceded just 38 runs and picked up three wickets in the last five overs as DC managed just 156/7 – the overall trophy drought was not over.

Match Scores: Delhi Capital 156/7 in 20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 65 *, Rishabh Pant; Trent Boult 3-30, Nathan Culter Nile 2-29) lost to Mumbai Indians 157/5 in 18.4 overs (Rohit Sharma 68, ) Ishan Kishan 33 *; Enrique Nerje 2-25) by 5 wickets. IPL 2020 – Finals

Scorecard of the IPL 2020 – Final Match

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: