- The umpires called the Indian cricket team’s call ‘null and void’.
- Australia were batting and during the 11th Over of the 3rd T20I against India, this scenario came across. This incident happened during the 11th over of Australia’s innings.
After winning 2 matches out of 3 T20I, Team India is facing Australia in 3rd T20I at SCG, Australia. Batting first, the home side posted 186/5 on the board, with Glenn Maxwell and Matthew Wade scoring half-centuries.
While Men in Blue took an unassailable 2–0 lead in the series, they made quite a few mistakes in the field today. There were several dropped catches and even some misfields in the deep.
But one major disturbance during the first innings was the late DRS call of the Indian cricket team. T Natarajan threw the eleventh over of the Australian innings and on the fourth ball, he caught Matthew Wade in front of his stumps. Surprisingly, neither the bowler nor the wicket keeper openly appealed.
Umpire on the ground has declined to give Wade out. The replays aired on the big screen and Virat Kohli then sought DRS. The officials asked the third umpire whether the batsmen opposed the decision.
Eventually, the umpires vetoed the call of the Indian cricket team. Hawk-Eye showed that Ball had crashed into a leg-stump to put Maine salt in a blues wound. Matthew Wade had completed his half-century on the previous delivery. He eventually struck a brilliant partnership with Glenn Maxwell for the third wicket and returned to the dressing room scoring 80 for 53.
It is pertinent to note that Steve Smith lost his wicket before the incident. Wade’s dismissal helped the Indian cricket team limit Australia’s final score. Wade sat in the middle and took the bowlers to the bowlers in the second half of the innings.