IND vs AUS: Henriques replaces Abbott in first Test against India at Adelaide

  • Australian fast bowler Sean Abbott will miss the first Test in Adelaide.
  • Abbott suffered a calf injury during the Australia A vs India A match.

Australian fast bowler Sean Abbott will be out of the upcoming first Test in Adelaide due to a calf injury. Cricket Australia (CA) announced on Monday. The first Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2020-21 will begin on 17 December.

Abbott as of late continued a gentle calf strain during the Australia A game against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG). He is presently expected to be accessible for the Boxing Day Test beginning on 26 December. Abbott was simply prone to be utilized in day-night obsessions if Mitchell Starc was not viewed as fit for the match.

Abbott is the third affirmed harmed player for the Australian side. Who will be inaccessible for the 4-coordinate arrangement opener after David Warner and Will Pukowski.

Henriques to replace Abbott

All-rounder Moises Henriques has been included in the Test squad in place of Abbott. Henriques was set to play a pink-ball warm-up game for Australia A, but dropped out due to a low-grade hamstring. However, he arrived on time to be part of the Tim Paine-led Australia team for the Adelaide Test.

Henriques was not associated with the Test series for a long time. He last played a Test match in Sri Lanka four years ago. So far, Heinrichs has played only four Tests, scoring two half-centuries and taking two wickets.

Ruling among the players, CA has received some good news about Cameron Green. It has been seen that the head he laid his hands on while bowling for Australia A is recovering well from the setback. The 21-year-old was ruled out of the match and replaced by Jack Wildermuth. Green will travel to Adelaide where he can begin his Test career.

Australian Squad for Test:

Tim Paine (c)Marcus HarrisTravis HeadJosh Hazlewood
Joe BurnsPat CumminsNathan LyonMaranus Labuschgane
Cameron GreenMoises HenriquesMichael NairSteve Smith
James PattinsonMatthew WeidenMitchell StarcMitchell Swapson

Also read: India Squad for 4 Test series against Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: